Slide background
Science City, Kolkata, a unit of the National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an autonomous body under the Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India and the largest science centre in India, was developed with a onetime capital grant by the administrative ministry. Science City was opened on July 01, 1997 and consists of two facilities, the Science Centre and the Convention Centre. The Science Centre complex comprises Space Odyssey, Dynamotion, Science Exploration Hall, Maritime Centre, Earth Exploration Hall and a sprawling Science Park. It has already recorded footfall of more than 29.90 million since its launch and is the major attraction in Kolkata to local residents as well as to the national and international visitors to the metropolis. While in Kolkata one cannot miss this iconic institution combining education and entertainment in sharp contrast to the science museums existing elsewhere in the country. Setting up of Science City on a plot of land once used for dumping of City’s garbage for over 100 years was a total make-over with a welcoming garden of science and environment friendly landscape.

The Convention Centre complex, a unique component of Science City, Kolkata comprises the Main Auditorium of 2232 seating capacity, one Mini Auditorium of 392 seating capacity and a Seminar hall complex consisting of 11 halls ranging from 15 to 100 seating capacity, an indoor (270sq.m.) and an open air exhibition ground (20000 sq. m). The auditoria’s and the seminar halls are fully air-conditioned. The Convention Centre of Science City is a major destination in the city of Kolkata for conventions, conferences, AGMs, trade exhibitions and cultural programmes.

Science City is also a unique example of self sustainability in the Government sector and meets its operation and maintenance expenses from its own revenue generation.

Last EC members of Science City with available contact details (As on 11.07.2015)

1. Dr. Saroj Ghose
(Former DG, NCSM and Chairman, EC, Science City), 4A Suryadeep Apartment, 112G, Salimpur Road, Kolkata 700031
2. Prof. Dipti Prasad Mukherjee
Head, Electronics & Communication Sciences Unit, Computer & Communication Sciences Division, Indian Statistical Institute, 203, B.T. Road, Kolkata-700 108
3. Shri Vikram Swarup
Managing Director, Paharpur Cooling Towers Ltd., Paharpur House, 8/1/B, Diamond Harbour Road, Kolkata-700 027
4. Dr. Amit Roy
Former Director, Inter-University Accelerator Centre, New Delhi, Flat 1A, Xenon Co-op. Housing Society, J-383, Baisnabghata Patuli Township, Kolkata-700 094
5. Dr. B. Venugopal
Director, Indian Museum, 27, Jawaharlal Nehru Road, Kolkata-700 016
6. Prof. Dhrubajyoti Chattopadhyay
Pro-Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Calcutta, Senate House, 87/1 College Street, Kolkata-700 073
7. Secretary­
Ex-Officio Member
Department of School Education, Govt. of West Bengal, Bikash Bhavan, Eastern Block, 6th Floor, Salt Lake, Kolkata-700 091
8. The Joint Secretary or his nominee
Ex-Officio Member
(Not below the rank of Deputy Secretary) Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India 329, “C’ Wing, Shastri Bhawan , Dr. Rajendra Prasad Road, New Delhi – 110 115
9. Shri G.S. Rautela
Ex-Officio Member
Director General, National Council of Science Museums, Block-GN, Sector-V, Bidhan Nagar, Kolkata-700 091
10. Shri A. Dutta Choudhury
Ex-Officio Member
Director, Science City, J B S Haldane Avenue, Kolkata-700 046
11. Dr. S. Jeelani Saheb
Ex-Officio Member
Curator ‘F’, Science City,  J B S Haldane Avenue, Kolkta-700 046
12. Shri K.S. Murali Ex-Officio Member
Curator ‘E’,  Science City,  J B S Haldane Avenue, Kolkta-700 046
13. Shri Goutam Roy
Non-member Secretary
Administrative Officer,  Science City,  J B S Haldane Avenue, Kolkta-700 046